Private sites and Friend Sharing

One of the many useful features in Helipaddy is the ability to add and share your own pads with rich data, allowing you and your friends to store points and navigate to them whilst benefitting from Helipaddy tools such as wind direction and TripAdvisor ‘nearby’ information. Premium members can even add these sites to their techlog and use these pads in Trip planning! Best of all, adding pads is completely free for EVERY Helipaddy member, and the pads will be accessible by you for the life of your membership, both in the apps and through the online dashboard. There are two general types of pads - private and public.

Private pads can only be seen by you and your friends - they can’t be seen by other Helipaddy members or found online by the general public.

Public pads are visible to all Helipaddy members - but they must first be checked for accuracy by the Helipaddy team!

 

We greatly encourage pilots to contribute new sites to the database in order to help other pilots find new places to explore and to reward these places for being heli-friendly by exposing them to other pilots!  


Sharing Private Sites with Friends

 

Once you have added a private pad you wish to share with friends (see Adding Pads in Helipaddy), you need to add these friends to your friends list in-App. In the app, the menu tab has an outline of a person with the (+) icon or you may have to select ‘Friends’ from the drop-down menu tab. Tapping this takes you to your friends in Helipaddy. You can then add your friends by adding their email address to the Friends page - if you know their Helipaddy email address it will give them the option to accept in-app, but any contact address will generate an email that will give them instructions on accepting your request.

 

Once your friend accepts your request, they can see your shared private pads and your location, if you have CopositionTM turned on. There are two ways to set which pads of yours they see (shared private pads).

In-app - Tap on the pad of yours you wish to review the sharing setting for. Private pads of yours will appear as blue markers.

You will see the Share Settings as a switch - ‘on’ means your friends can see the pad, ‘off’ means they cannot.

 

Online - Login and go to your ‘Pads’ tab and scroll down to ‘My pads’

You can turn sharing on or off for a single pad by toggling the “Share pad” button in the Actions Column (it’s the third button across, between delete and favourite).

 

Note that in-app you can turn off which friend’s pads you see, but this does not influence them seeing your pads - you have to turn each pad off individually (unless you remove them as a friend completely by swiping left on their name). Simply toggle the switch for that particular friend to turn off your visibility of their pads. This will also turn off your ability to see their location if they are sharing it using CopositionTM. To prevent all friends from seeing your location, turn Coposition off in your account settings.
 

Comments have been turned off for this post.

Copyright © 2015 Helipaddy Limited, company number 08866916